Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What to look for in a trainer -Rocky under saddle-
I am determined that this is the year Rocky goes to school. I have a few questions I would like some advice on.

I have 'interviewed' about 4 people so far.

One guy came out last year and I mentioned him in this post:

http://www.dailyequine.com/forums/topic....IC_ID=6145

My concern with this guy was besides his own horse, he had only trained one other horse, but they spoke highly of him. Also spending such a long time in each session was an issue also.

Second guy I spoke to would take Rocky for 30 days for $300 bucks. Downfall to this guy is that my friends know him well and he is hard on the horse. Self taught trainer.

One guy came recommended very well down here, but may have an issue with alcohol and is not reliable. He was $400. Comes from a horse family.

A neighbor 3 houses away learned under a guy named Benny Sargeant and has a degree from Morehead in animal science. She worked for this Benny guy for about 8 years and broke about 30 horses. She charges $600 a month and that includes lessons once a week on Rocky.

Another person is up in Ohio about 2 hours away, she charges $550 plus $50 for hauling Rocky to and fro. She has been training professionally for 5 years but did not mention how many horses she finished.

Is it standard practice to pay the trainer before hand?

Is it out of line for me to ask for references and how many horses they have finished?

Should I let distance be a determining factor?

If someone mentions that they use a training technique you do NOT want done to your horse, but they say they ONLY do it if....could that alone be a enough to say no to that person?

Do you have to click with the trainer you send your horse to?

Is there anything I am not thinking of?