Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hay Storage
I'm new to horse property management and have always wondered about hay storage and why most hay shelters permit rain to hit the bales from the side. Isn't this hazardous for development of mold? I wonder why these structures aren't enclosed on the sides with canvas or plastic.

If I go with a closed, waterproof shed, is it necessary to have any vents?

Also, since I will have to have delivered hay stacked, should I have a completely open front so a truck/tractor can just drive in?

My previous experience is of Dad, a truck and a garage, so I'd appreciate any tips on doing this for myself finally. Thanks so much!

Thanks
Ideally hay should never be stored where it can be exposed to the elements but as long as the hay is stored so the any rain that gets on the side can dry up them only the outside bales get damaged.

Hay should never be stored directly on the ground unless you plan to use the bottom row as a sacrifice because it always molds.

Hay should be stored in an enclosed area off the floor at least 8" to allow for good circulation. (Yes, it needs more than one wooden skid, you might get by with two but a full floor support is really required to make the sure the bottom row does not mold.

Our ideal is a a hay loft with good air circulation, yes you will need vents and the roof will need insulation under the tin to prevent condensation dripping on the hay.

If you have any specific question as you get closer to making some final decisions let me know and I will try to give you the benefit of our experience with storing hay in the high humidity of southern Ontario
Hook(ed)......on Horses