Daily Equine Forum Visit Horse Saddle Shop Read Horse Saddle Shops Blog Horse Saddle Shop Twitter Horse Saddle Shop Facebook Image Map
Daily Equine Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics |Recent Messages | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Saddle and Tack Topics
 Saddle Brands
 info on circle y
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Uglydog56
Tenderfoot

2 Posts

Posted - 07/09/2011 :  11:38:32 AM  Show Profile Send Uglydog56 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hello everyone, newbie here. I grew up in Nebraska on a cattle ranch riding horses, but kind of put all that behind me when I joined the Navy. However, my wife has taken up horse ownership as her personal albatross, er, hobby, so it looks like I'm going to be doing some trail riding and soforth again. When I was home visiting family last time, I got my dad's saddle which has been hanging in a shed for about 20 years. My dad is not doing well, and I would like to refurbish this saddle and use it for him, I guess. I read several posts on identifying circle y's and also attempted contacting the company, which is still in business. They asked if it had tooling on it or not (it didn't) and didn't get back to me after that. Mine doesn't have numbers on it where you guys all say yours does. It is on the back center behind the cantle. First it has a "No. 52" and below that a "1062". It's kind of reddish, no tooling, a riding horn vice roping, no silver at all. Interestingly my dad is left-handed and the latigo thing to tie on a lariat is on the right side instead of the left. It's in rough shape from neglect and I'm going to be spending a lot of hours with old socks and neatsfoot oil on this thing. There's some stitching that has to be replaced as well. Any walking saddle encyclopedia's know more than circle y about this thing? Thanks, Rick.

Hook
Trail Boss (Moderator)