Daily Equine Forum Visit Horse Saddle Shop Read Horse Saddle Shops Blog Horse Saddle Shop Twitter Horse Saddle Shop Facebook Image Map
Daily Equine Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics |Recent Messages | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Caring and Owning Horses
 The Beginning Rider
 low head when running
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

TripleB
Beginning Rider

65 Posts

Posted - 02/12/2006 :  5:58:28 PM  Show Profile  Visit TripleB's Homepage Send TripleB a Private Message
Hi, I am new to horses. I have been riding since May 05. I have a new horse, he is great! Only thing is, When he lopes, he starts out kinda rough (almost a buck) and when he gets the hang of it good, and picks up speed he has his head so low it's as if his nose is just above the ground. Is this normal?? I was wondering if it was because his previous owner had him since he was little, and never had the desire to run on a horse. Does he just not know how?? He will also turn his head to look at things while running,rocks, clumps of dirt... ect. Shouldn't he watch were he is going? I am not used to looking down the horse of the neck of a horse while running, he turned his head to look at something the other day and I didn't have a good grip and lost the reins, it seemed like alog way home!LOL
I just wondered if this is a normal way for him to carry his head, and if it is not, what I can do about it.

Thank you for your time!

fracturedbones
Clinician

3424 Posts

Posted - 02/13/2006 :  12:51:03 PM  Show Profile  Visit fracturedbones's Homepage Send fracturedbones a Private Message