Daily Equine Forum Visit Horse Saddle Shop Read Horse Saddle Shops Blog Horse Saddle Shop Twitter Horse Saddle Shop Facebook Image Map
Daily Equine Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics |Recent Messages | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Discussions
 General Information
 Frequency of breeding
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

3B_Lady
Groomer

USA
34 Posts

Posted - 03/06/2006 :  11:25:22 AM  Show Profile  Visit 3B_Lady's Homepage Send 3B_Lady a Private Message

I have recently acquired three broodmares that are due to foal this spring or early summer. I would like to know what your opinions are regarding how often a mare should be bred. Is there a standard "wait period" after foaling before she should be bred again? Obviously, I am new at this and don't want to make any mistakes that could harm our mares! Any information would be appreciated.

appygirl
Clinician

USA
3211 Posts

Posted - 03/06/2006 :  11:31:48 AM  Show Profile Send appygirl a Private Message
I guess it would all depend on how many years you want to be raising babies. If you breed your mares like the TB farms do here in KY, they'll be barefoot and pregnant every year. They are generally bred again on their foal heat or the one next occurring.

If I had a small time breeding operation I'd rotate my mares' pregnancies leaving one mare open every third year (i.e., breed two consecutive years and leave open on the 3rd). You don't want to leave a mare open for multiple years because then you could have a problem having her catch.

Keep in mind the age and general health of your mare. Have your mare evaluated by a vet prior to breeding her.

Enjoy those babies and don't forget to post some pics of the newborns. ;o)

Appygirl

Man does not have the only memory,
The animals remember,
The earth remembers,
The stones remember,