Daily Equine Forum Visit Horse Saddle Shop Read Horse Saddle Shops Blog Horse Saddle Shop Twitter Horse Saddle Shop Facebook Image Map
Daily Equine Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics |Recent Messages | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Saddle and Tack Topics
 Saddle Types
 Help me pick a saddle!
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Robert
Groomer

USA
36 Posts

Posted - 04/22/2005 :  03:07:47 AM  Show Profile  Visit Robert's Homepage Send Robert a Private Message
I've been saving up for a saddle for some time and I've had my eye on several of the custom saddles at the Saddle Shop. It was suggested to me by my instructor and my farrier (an ex-rodeo cowboy) that I need a saddle with full quarter horse bars and a deep seat like a roper or a barrel racer to help me stay in the proper riding position (I'm still learning to ride). Looking at the pictures on the Saddle Shop, it seems like the barrel racers have the deepest seats. But since I'm a guy and I don't see any guys barrel racing, I've kinda ruled them out. Is that being silly or what?

Looking at the three cheapest custom ropers, they don't seem to have a seat any deeper than the golden brown trail saddle ($610). I really like the looks on the black trail saddle (also $610) but it seems to have a shallower seat and I'd prefer the slick seat of the golden brown saddle over the black saddle's suede seat.

I like the idea of having a ranch saddle ($642) but I read somewhere that the high cantles aren't necessarily a good thing. I just can't remember why. Any ideas out there???

Finally, here's a shot of Echo, the horse I'm leasing for at least a year. Echo is a grade QH grulla and the saddle must look good on him:

That's his owner in the saddle. This was taken in January when his winter coat was its shaggiest. Yeah, he's looks like a tramp but so do I.